Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hey

Warlock044x

Hey, I have been playing gutiar for 3-4 years now, and i am decent, but like, I jsut can't seem to get erally good at songs, soloing mostly, other people who have been playing as long as I am are way better, do I just have to keep practicing for like 5 hours a day? I really daydream about being in a band and stuff so...

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

when you say "decent" do you mean you have clothes on? seriously , practice the things you find difficult. everyone will progress at their own pace.

don't sweat it we all have days when we think we can't get better. just make your practicing productive. start slow and practice doing it right, if you rush and make mistakes you will be learning how to play sloppy. welcome to the forum , there is a wealth of knowledge here. :D:wave:

welcome Warlock

I found that the better I got, the more areas I discovered I needed to get better. Y'know what I mean. "the more you know, you realize how little you know" (or something like that)

I found that soloing got alot better once I started playing with the radio, improvising over everything and anything I heard. Every genre, over instrumental, vocal, everything. It sounded terrible for a while. But since your hands are getting good/decent, (as it sounds like it is with you now), your musical sense will need exercising too. Where to start, what to hold, where to land etc. I started doing this when I got frustrated with my lessons. Face it, there are a gillion players out there that can play really fast. (I'm not assuming thats your goal) Forget speed and lustre for now, in my opinion. I think what you need now is Comfort with being exposed as a soloist. Try playing with the radio, pretend your guitar is the lead vocalist. Or pretend your doing a duet with the lead vocalist- call and answer type of thing. I think you'll like it in a couple weeks.

Just my wacky opinion from here