Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help with re-harm

Phil W

OK, a humble bassplayer here. I'm learning about harmony so I did a quick reharm of Jingle Bells just for fun and as a learning exercise, it's not anything I would play live. I actually did it with the bass and a looper to generate the chords rather than on keyboard but I know you guys really know the theory stuff so if anybosy has any suggestions or comments on the reharm - even to slag it off - I'm a beginner in terms of reharmonisation (I'm not proud).

You know the melody - here are my changes (al ittle obscure on prurose at times as I wanted to push the envelope rather than do something really useful as an end product.

Verse Progression:

:||FM7 | Em7(no5)| Eb7#11 |BbM7/D | Gm7 | C7 | F#7 | FM7 ||:

Chorus Progression

|| FM7 |Em7b5-A7| Dm7-G7| C7-F#7|

| Bmaj7 |Em7b5-A7|Dm7-Db7| C7 |

| FM7 |Em7b5-A7| Dm7-G7| C7-F7 |

|Bbmaj7|Em7b5-A7| Dm7-G7| F#M7 ||

Bit crazy but it's fun!

I'm still not sure about the second one on the verse - I wrote E sus but Em7 with no fifth sounds better - I'm playing D and G with C in the melody and D in the bass. Any ideas?

I practised walking the changes and soloing over them, referencing the melody. I tried to record all this using the looper (playing the chords up the neck) but unfortunately I can't squeeze the 32 bar form into the 20 odd seconds allowed by the looper - except at some crazy bebop tempo (soon maybe if I practise).

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
It's hard to see what your intentions are by just looking at chord symbols. Can you post an mp3 or a pdf of it? I did one a few days ago of deck the halls in a similar thread for a member. It's a few pages back by now, but you can look at it and see what I did. Same kind of thing as jingle bells. Simple major scale reharm. nothing earth shattering, but it's alway cool to see someone elses take on anything.