Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice needed on buying a Wurlitzer

cheezeejazz

Hi guys

I'm thinking of purchasing a wurly and wondered if theres anythings to watch out for?

i've used the sound loads on keyboards but I know nothing about them, unlike rhodes which I have a lot of experience with.

Main thing is, is there much difference in sound/specification/weight between different models? Which models are common and which are rare finds?

How heavy is an average one? And how much is a fair price for one in reasonable condition in the UK?

So many questions - hope someone can help!

Thanks, Pete

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Go look at it and play it before you buy. All are not equal. They're not that hard to maintain and a blast to play. I've got a 200 and a fender rhodes. The wurli is lighter than the rhodes, as far as moving, but the rhodes is a bit sturdier than the wurli. Go get one. You'll be sounding like "Donny Hathaway-Live" by the weekend.

I don't know that there's a lot to watch out for that you wouldn't ordinarily expect from a vintage EP. The electronics are the only thing qualitatively different than a Rhodes -- the rest is mechnical.

There are plenty of places online where you can go see what the different models are -- I somehow doubt anyone's going to make a complete list with commentary, given how extremely available this info is.

I think they're a bitch to maintain, personally, but I play mine all the time.

You won't find one for cheap anywhere in the UK, most likely.

Do you have any more interesting questions (meaning questions that can't just be looked up on the web, like weight [blah, blah, blah])?

I didn't see too many other questions in your post, but if you have some, it would be fun to talk about Wurlitzer EPs here.

Get the 200 model. It is the most modern and is somewhat better shielded against hum than the old tube models in the heavy masonite cases.