Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need some input from the synth masters

Bridog6996

I just recently started diving into the world of synthesizers. Picked myself up a Juno 106, and I've been having fun playing around with it. Anyway, to the point. I'm trying recreate as closely as possible this particular sound (click the link for a short clip) from the piece "Mild und Leise" by Paul Lanksy. Some of you might recognize this clip, as the band Radiohead sampled it for their tune "Idioteque." I'd like to play this tune with my band, which is the reason for the question.

To you synth guys, is this something I can recreate on the Juno 106? I've been able to get somewhat close, but since I'm a noob to synths, it's basically just trial and error for me. I mean, I could just sample the chords, but I'd like to actually be able to play it if possible.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well I can't say I am a synth master, but I can say that I too would like to know how the sound was made.

At first it sounded like frequency modulation, but the tones seem to resemble the wavetables on my Prophet VS soft synth aswell. It might just be a patch that requires user mixing of waveforms to achieve the sound. It has a very 'digital' sound to it, you just need waveforms that match those timbres, a little LFO routing to get that slight vibrato, and you should be good.

I wish I knew what was going on on the keyboard during that line. Are the harmonics being triggered by the patch, or what the notes the player is using?

Good question. I would love to hear an answer.

GIGO

That sounds like a bell with a slow envelope. Juno 106 could do it, but I think you need 2 oscillators to get the tuning of the bell right. My JX8P has some presets that sound almost like that, but percussive. It also sounds like the DX7 tubular bells with slow attack.