Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Piano Man intro

Vagabond

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have a billy joel keyboard book and it doesnt have the transcription for the intro.

i grabbed it on holidays and assumed it would so hadnt checked inside when i purchased and as it was a 6 hour drive to return it I was stuck with it.

Now i make do with my rendition of it...although id love to know how close I am to it.

there was a thread recently on this but if I remember rightly no one came forth with any resolve to this question.

I guess ill make do with my version.

Originally posted by Vagabond:

No, that's not it. The VERY beginning.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60O5x4e5p2c

00:00-00:07

thanks vagabond

ive been using a computer with no sound for 2 years...ive just this week startted using a mac with sound and your link is the first ive tried with this machine...and yes I have got the intro very close just by hearing it on the radio...I ve searched for ages to find a copy in my old tapes to no aVAIL.

thanks to your link ive now addressed a nagging issue of am i close to the intro...happily yes.now i can tidy it up...although i reckon billy plays it differently every time and a little improv is expected of a song that tells the story of a piano man.who for the sake of trying not to bore himself would in reality change the intro often.

cheers vagabond the transcription really is not needed once you have the song in front of you.

.should have bought a recording instead of looking for my old ones.

i too have looked for a midi file with the intro on it...i thought it would resolve my issue on the intro...but have not found one either...