Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Workstation confusion

Krakit

I have never given workstations much of a thought. Not until yesterday anyway.

Yesterday at Guitar Center, I started noodling with a Korg Triton. I don't know how it was set up but as soon as I started playing the Triton automatically accompanied me.

It was surreal. It seemed to keep up with everything I did. Tempo and key changes. Even when I changed patches the keyboard still kept backing me up. Changing feel and genre without any input from me other than what I was doing on the keys.

It impressed me so much that I decided that I have to start saving for and researching workstations.

So today I went back to Guitar Center to recreate my experience.

I don't know what changed but I wasn't able to recreate the settings that were there before. I tried all the Tritons, the Motif and the Fantom. None of them were doing that automatic rhythm section thing that I fell in love with yesterday.

I pushed all the buttons trying to find the magic combination that triggers the backing tracks. No joy.

What do I have to do to make that happen again?

Carl

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, it certainly wasn't a Karma. It was the Triton Le.

As for the arpeggiator, this was way beyond just arpegiation. It was drums, bass, guitar and sometimes even horns.

Carl

if you find out how this happened let me know!! this is the kind of stuff I really wish workstations did more of. I really wish you didn't have to program them so much and could get full arrangements like you mentioned 'on the fly' like a clavinova or other similar board. I do have the Triton LE and have never stumbled upon this feature however.....

Aaron

Originally posted by Krakit:

As for the arpeggiator, this was way beyond just arpegiation. It was drums, bass, guitar and sometimes even horns.