Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

close to buying a Clavia Nord Electro!

dissident

I'm close to deciding to get a Clavia Nord Electro, anyone want to talk me out of buying one?

I need a great keyboard for band rehersals and live gigs. I wan't to use it to play organ, rhodes, piano... I thing the electro orgen sounds awesome! I'm a student so money is an issue, which is the reason I need a all in one keyboard with both organ and piano sounds. I this set up worth the money? Are there other ones that kick clavias ass? A while I was thinking about hooking up a keyboard to a laptop, with halion or B4 for example, but that doesn't seem to be as reliable. I like the USB feature with nord electro which you can uppdate the sounds with.

thanks!

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Dissident!

Go for the Electro - you won´t be dissapointed, It sounds like the thing for you. The acoustic pianos are the weakest thing on the Electro, but I´m happy with them. For grand piano sounds, i use the CP80 sample, and for most other applications I use the upright sample with a little distortion. I see them as a bonus, since I have other, better piano samples too. A laptop running GigaPiano, Lounge Lizard, B4 and that virtual clav could be a solution too, but, like you said, it may be less reliable and a less complete solution than a dedicated gigging board. And you wouldn´t get the waterfall keys that way!

/J :D nas

I have a Nord Electro and think the electric pianos and organ are among the best, if not THE best, at emulating those instruments. The acoustic piano is definitely weak, but if you're playing with a band (no solo stuff) and doing mostly chords, that will sound fine. If it still doesn't work, you could hook up with a used Kurzweil micropiano for $250 onr something down the line, I'd imagine.