Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Real Time Collaboration Question

Hi,

Newbie with a question. (If you don't mind...)

Does anyone know of any realtime collaborative method?

There is bound to be a bit of latency between me and my partner. Is that transmission latency enough to make it impossible for real time internet collaboration?

In a nutshell, I am a guitarist and would like to jam or practice with my guitarist buddy who lives 500 miles away. We both have cable internet connections and are willing to invest a moderate amount of money.

For a set up: both of us have a spare amp. I would have a line out from my playing amp leading to my PC sound card line input. I would have a line out from my PC sound card output leading to my spare amp.

His end would have the same set up.

I would guess we would use a peer-to-peer connection between us.

I would guess that some on-the-fly audio compression would be used.

Now, All I need is to know: is there is any software available to support this?

Or is this not technically feasible?

(It sounds like a great idea, so it must be one that won't work?)

Thanks in advance....

[Also, apologies in advance if this is not the right forum to be asking this question....]

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

DanS,

Did a net search & it looks like Rocket Network peaked about 2001- 2002. In this article about musical collaboration, it sounds like Rocket was mostly used for moving files about? It is interesting but doesn't seem to involve real time collaboration:

http://www.findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0EIN/is_2001_April_13/ai_73175557

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/science/nature/1907546.stm

It looks like Digidesign acquired Rocket in 2003.

http://www.digidesign.com/news/details.cfm?story_id=49

Even so, the truth is: