Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

dare you drum without earplugs?

teh dri

seriously, how many of you drum WITHOUT earplugs?

im an engineer too so i wear soe cheap earplugs really loosely, pushed just enough in to roll off the top end

when i say cheap earplugs i mean those orange "MAX/Howard Leight" foam ones or the yellow "Classic" ones you see everywhere from factories to gigs

also, im not even that heavy a player. my 5b's bang over nicely over some groovey breaks, not 2b thumping metal mayhem

i guess the room im in contributes to why i wear them (my drums are in a small "bright" sounding room off my bedroom/studio)

but yeah, anyway i was just curious to see what you guys do

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Our drummer beats the living hell out of his kit on many occasions, and does not wear earplugs. He keeps saying he should, but after 30 years it's hard to change. Funny thing is, he lost much of the high end in one ear years ago - NOT due to drumming, but because of a virus. He's really pissed to this day that "I have hearing loss and it's not even from rocking!"

--Lee

I go through phases. I'm in a definite earplug-wearing phase right now and I hope I keep with it. I just can't stand the things. It's like it takes 1/3 of the life out of the playing. Singing's also a bitch. I hate 'em, but I wear 'em when I force myself to. The lower the db cut rating the better.
Just for the record.

Yeah it really sucks how much the plugs squeeze the life out of the sound. I keep wanting to get one of those fancy custom fitted pairs from an audiologist, which are supposed to cut all frequencies evenly. Lots of people swear by those and say they actually improve the listening experience. But they're like $100 a pair which I just can't swing right now... hopefully in the next few months I'll be able to.

--Lee