Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Drummergirl

Hi,

I am a new member and just wanted to introduce myself. I am a drummer of a new local band that just started out. We are a four person band and I am the only female. We started in December. Everything is going well so far. The guitarist knows a lot about music and has been playing for 9 years. The bass guitarist just started out but is doing pretty well himself. However, our singer doesn't not understand the first thing about music and the importance of his voice and of timing. Especially timing. I try to explain it to him but he doesn't get it. He doesn't know when to come in on a song. And if he makes a mistake he will stop and them continue where he left off even though the rest of the band is may 4 measures ahead of him. Well, I understand timing is my responsibility and I do not know how to explain to him these very important things. Can anyone help me. Thanks

Drummergirl

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I had this problem with some singers I was Paid to produce in the studio before...you can hope but I'm sorry to say he probably won't improve very soon http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/frown.gif.

If he trusts you and believes you when you tell him he's been coming in at the wrong places then there may be a solution.

Try writing a simple drum cue type of fill that you can familiarize him with, teach him to play it even...practice starting 4 bars before the verse of a song you all know well, do it a few time until he really feels where to come in.

If the singer has a decent memory you can write different fills for different songs or movements, if he's a 'space cadet' http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/wink.gif you might want to use the same fill for every cue.

And if he makes a mistake he will stop and them continue where he left off even though the rest of the band is may 4 measures ahead of him