Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Acoustic vs. Electric

aframe9999

I'm glad we finally have a drummer forum!!! Yippeee! I'm really a guitar player, but I'm also a closet drummer......so don't kick me out or anything......

Here goes: The drummer in my band plays electric drums (and cymbals). I happen to like the versatility and volume control.

However, this has been the source of many contentious debates on other boards.

So let's kick it off! What do you think? let's get it on.......

------------------

Andrew

My Band:

http://www.encoreentertainment.net/rockcandy.htm

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Presently, I think while electric drums (i.e Roland V-pro kit probably being the best of the lot) have come light years in a very short amount of time, they still are *probably* best used as a percussive effect that is - not trying to emulate a classic acoustic drum set sound. For Dance/Ambient Drum n bass stuff i think they can be really cool & verstile, for Rock or Jazz...well, they still aren't there yet. For my ears anyway.

Then again you have guys like Omar Hakim cutting his solo record on them, so go figure......

ajc

I'm glad someone brought this topic up as it was nagging at me from another thread on the boards.

Neil Peart was one of the first I can remember that incorporated electrics and acoustics that was in the limelight (no pun intended). The electrics sound very electric and the acoustics, well, they're all Neil of course! The difference in tones are very effective.

In my personal set up, live, I don't use electrics, cause we are a rock/jazz fusion thing. I just play a great sounding sonor 5 piece. I kinda hate setting up electrics live too...especially in an original club where you are with 3 other bands. One might get lucky with a good monitor mix but you know how that goes.