Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

bass learning programs

Elwood

I'm brand new to playing bass guitar--I never touched one until I bought a "starter" model Saturday afternoon and, after going through the exercises in the first few pages of a Hal Leonard book, by later that night I was playing along with "Give me some loving" by Spencer Davis Group. I wasn't playing very well, I'll admit, but it did encourage me to keep at it. I plan to get started with an instructor real soon.

I'd like to keep studying between lessons and was wondering if anybody on this forum has had any experience with some of those programs advertised on the Internet that claim to teach playing the bass in a fraction of the time of conventional methods. They all have glowing endorsements, but I'm pretty skeptical. How about more mainstream interactive teaching CDs/DVDs, such as eMedia or others? Books are cheap and convenient, but do the interactive programs really help you learn much faster and with fewer bad habits than learning from books?

I'd really appreciate any suggestions from anyone who's tried them.

As an illustrator, I might hope my work could someday touch someone's heart, but a musician has the potentital to touch a person's very soul.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hey Elwood:

You've played guitar for quite a long time right? (Is this the Elwood from the guitar forum?) You should be able to become proficient enough to play bass with others without a huge amount of effort. To become really polished and very capable takes a long time and a lot of effort, but at least the initial learning curve isn't all that steep.

I think we can safely say that all the "learn to play bass like the pro's with no effort on your part" videos are all crap. Don't waste your money on those.