Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My lazy ring finger (left hand).

DavidMPires

Hello all

I have a lazy ring finger on my left hand and I don't know what to do about it. I have tried even really ortodox ways to improve it.

Can you help me with some exercises to correct this as this affects some arpegios progressions that I try to do.

Jeremy do you have any sugestion?

Seems that my ring finger doesn't detach from the small one.

Please help.

Cheers

www.myspace.com/davidbassportugal

"And then the magical unicorn will come prancing down the rainbow and we'll all join hands for a rousing chorus of Kumbaya." - by davio

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The only way that I know is to force yourself to use it by repeated practice. Play arpeggio exercises and any exercises that demand the use of four fingers until the use of all fingers becomes subconscious. I played for many years, self-taught, with three fingers and still tend to slip back into it - it's like playing with a self-enforced disabilty and it hampers what you can do. There's nothing wrong with a 3 fingered approach, just that if you have the option of one finger per fret it gives you more possibilties.

Place your hand flat on the table palm down and rise your finger up as high as it will go while pushing down with the other fingers. Do this a few times then turn your hand over and repeat doing the opposite. Go gently with this one, only use the one hand don't force you finger down with the other hand. Eventually the tendons will stretch.

You can do this anywhere.

I'm not a doctor or physiotherapist or anything so don't sue me if you strain something. Take it easy. :D

Feel the groove internally within your own creativity. - fingertalkin

That doesn't sound like a good idea, Tim.