Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Can a guitarist play good bass lines?

OK, I know the knee jerk answer is ABSOLUTELY NOT!

But really... I've been playing guitar for over 20 years, and I have recently purchased my first Fender jazz bass to lay tracks in my small project studio.

I find that after a short warm up time, I can "hear" and play what seems to be some "interesting" bass lines, but when I listen back, I find that I kinda "overplay" a bit.

Have I learned to "swing the club the wrong way", and I'm never going to swing it the "right way"?

... aaarghh!

Are any of you former guitar players? Do you think you "hear" different lines than your guitarist friends do? Is there any hope for me?

guitplayer

I'm still "guitplayer"!

Check out my music if you like...

http://www.michaelsaulnier.com

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Guitplayer, I still think of myself first and foremost as a guitar player who doubles on bass, something I only started 6 or 8 mos. ago.

I believe my bass playing has improved over time as I've listened to other bassists, to myself, and really thought about how to get the kind of bass line I hear. THE classic problem we guitarists have on bass is overplaying. Try playing 3 notes instead of 5; 1 instead of 3.

The other folks here who've played bass for years are really the experts, but I felt I could speak to switching over since I've done it so recently. Have fun! and remember,

"No pressure - all GROOVE."

- Chad

Chad,

Thanks for your comments... It's good to see I'm not alone!

One thing I realized after thinking about my playing is that maybe I'm filling in too much because I'm putting my bass lines down with only a drum track... I'd probably do better if I tried recording after letting the guitar or keys say their piece. Probably keep me from playing the "melody" too much on the bass lines...

Any veteran thoughts about this?

guitplayer

I'm still "guitplayer"!