Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Stupid Windoze tricks...

I'm sure many others like myself are self-taught computer users. And every once in a while somebody will show me a trick that I didn't know, which usually is something obvious. Anyway, here's some examples...

Right click on the taskbar and tile the windows (I use to actually sit and manually size two windows until my buddy showed me this one...)

Tab to go to next entry box...(he showed me that one , too. This is probably not even windows, but some typing tip I missed...i skipped that class...it was get high or go to typing...in 10th grade, that's not even a choice. :D )

ctrl+v = paste....duh...can you believe I didn't know some of this stuff?

----

What other kind of obvious stuff am I missing?

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Use Windowz Paint to resize pictures without needing another program.

Open Paint and the picture. Select Image and then Stretch/Skew. In the Stretch windows input some %age you want to resize the picture. Make sure to use the same number is each window or the ration will not be correct.

Our Joint

"When you come slam bang up against trouble, it never looks half as bad if you face up to it." The Duke...

Of course, the most useful music tip is that thing posted here a few years ago where it was shown Windows is a full blown "professional" polyphonic synthesizer and loop machine (or something). That one was hilarious. Wish I could remember where that info was.

Right click in the taskbar select "new toolbar",when prompted make a folder in My documents or wherever name it SC and drag your desktop shortcuts into the SC folder. Now your shortcuts will appear in the taskbar folder. I do this with the programs I don't use all the time, it cleans up the desktop but keeps them at reach.

I also create a toolbar folder for the manuals of the programs I use most often so if I want to look up something it's right there.