Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Did you hear ??? got shot last night?

As I brushed my teeth this morning the TV news played a teaser going into the commercial. MIRA MESA MAN SHOT AT PARTY.

As I work in Mira Mesa, my ears pricked up, and I had a passing thought, "Geesh, that could be one of the guys working at XXXXX".

I work as an audio engineer at a large call center, and by and large, our callers are young, going to school, or going nowhere. You know the type... souped up early 90's Hondas, stereos bangin'.

Well it turns out that the kid (19?) that I say "hey" to every morning on my way to the copy machine was shot and killed... no reason.

He was arriving at a party, the gunman was being kicked out of the party. Wrong place, wrong time.

You hear about it everyday, but shit. What did this guy have a gun for? Why?

When I grew up in LA in the 60's and 70's, it was knives. Or bangin' someone's head with a bat. Bad stuff happened then too, but not with the ease of some pissed off drunkin' loser deciding to pop someone because he's having a bad day.

Holy SHIT!

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

So sad Lee.

As much as it hurts, I know of at least 15 people who were shot and killed. One was an artist I worked with that sang Gosple. He was car-jacked.

I don't get out much anymore. Bars, parties, etc. A know of a few live music venues that are pretty "high end" in nature, this gurantees nothing with madmen on the loose. I am not "scared" or anything like that..it is just I have a great time working here. It took a long time to have my facility in my home, in a safe neighborhood.

Such a sad state of affairs Lee.

Bill Roberts Precision Mastering

-----------Since 1975-----------

Man that sucks. I know how you feel though, I used to do a fair amount of local (Chicago) hip-hop and rap and lost three clients to guns.

/jim