Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Essential Albums For Audio Professionals.

Hi

This is hopefully going to turn into a decent recommendations thread for everyone. Sorry if I'm just recycling old ideas here.

I'm in the mood for listening to some classic albums and expanding my CD collection. I'm a budding young engineer and like to listen and learn. I like to analyze songs - the sounds of the instruments used, the structure, the mix & production etc.

What would you all say are the absolute essential albums that I should listen to?

Don't worry about the style of the music. Absolutely everything is fair game. Of course there will be some obvious choices but don't worry, throw them in.

Also, who's Greatest Hits or Best Ofs should be owned by everyone who doesn't own the individual albums?

Thanks in advance

John Scott

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Man, there's so many. . . . .

The obvious:

Beatles "Sgt. Peppers"

Beach Boys "Pet Sounds"

The Who "Who's Next"

Pink Floyd "Dark Side of the Moon" and "The Wall"

Michael Jackson "Thriller"

Coldplay "A Rush of Blood To The Head"

U2 "Joshua Tree" and "Achtung Baby"

Nine Inch Nails "Downward Spiral"

Dr. Dre "Chronic"

Led Zepplin "IV"

Hendrix "Electric Ladyland"

Not so obvious but great recordings:

Jill Scott "Who is Jill Scott"

Samuel Barber "Adagio for Strings, Op. 11/Orchestral Music" conducted by Leonard Slatkin

Bryan Ferry "Mamouna"

Quincy Jones "Q's Jook Joint" & "Back on the Block"

Bjork "Homogenic" and "Post"

Rob Hoffman

http://www.robmixmusic.com

Los Angeles, CA

Thanks, I'm doing pretty well so far, I have about 3/4 of the albums listed.

I should add, it would be good if you could give a brief explanation as to why you think these albums are essential, especially the less obvious ones.

Thanks.