Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Making Great Music is More about EDITING than Composing

Making Great Music is More about EDITING than Composing. That is what I have seemed to learn over the years. On good days, I can pound out 5 or 6 tracks on a keyboard , BUT HOW MANY OF THEM will be in the final product?  Sometimes, I even throw out the first track that started the whole process! Jamming for 2 or 3 hours may create the skeleton of a tune, but it can be up to 30 hours of editing that makes it fly.  Recently a song got so "busy" that I copied a track out to start another complete composition.

I admit that I'm a drummer and not really a keyboard player, but I found that EDITING is the most important.

I have also found that sometimes, breaking melodic "rules" helps.

Dan

This is a small snippet of the lecture, but I always return to this.

The emerging view of genius has been shifting from not being struck by the divine rays of heaven in glorious epiphany of revelation, but the ability to constantly refine and hone potential. 

1 hour ago, techristian said:

Making Great Music is More about EDITING than Composing. That is what I have seemed to learn over the years. On good days, I can pound out 5 or 6 tracks on a keyboard , BUT HOW MANY OF THEM will be in the final product?  Sometimes, I even throw out the first track that started the whole process! Jamming for 2 or 3 hours may create the skeleton of a tune, but it can be up to 30 hours of editing that makes it fly.  Recently a song got so "busy" that I copied a track out to start another complete composition.

I admit that I'm a drummer and not really a keyboard player, but I found that EDITING is the most important.

I have also found that sometimes, breaking melodic "rules" helps.

Dan