Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

1500$ or so for Yamaha, Seagull, or Zager

Hi.  I'm new to guitar forums.  I am primarily a finger style player yet strum lightly without a pick.  I am also deaf in my right ear so guitar tone is relative to this.  I am in the market for a Yamaha AC5R, Seagull Artist Mosaic Bourbon Burst, or, a Zager Zad80 series.  What do you think I should get?

• Like 4

If you can find one, a Rainsong OM 1000.

Of your choices, I'd probably pick the Yamaha, I've had great experiences with their products. They have excellent QC in my experience. 

• Like 3
It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

Vetecho43, I would suggest trying all 3 and see which one feels the best in your hands...good luck, welcome aboard and good hunting! +1 on Yamaha as I've heard positive reviews on their acoustic guitars...😎👍

• Like 2
Take care, Larryz

1 hour ago, KuruPrionz said:

If you can find one, a Rainsong OM 1000.

Of your choices, I'd probably pick the Yamaha, I've had great experiences with their products. They have excellent QC in my experience. 

I'm sure that's a very fine guitar- and a very, consistently reliable one through any weather or climate! But- even used, isn't that going to run around double or more the stated price range? Correct me if I'm wrong!

Now... Yamaha guitars ARE very good quality, with excellent quality-control and consistency. And Seagull guitars are also generally well regarded in the low and mid price range. I've played examples of both here and there over the years.

But reading up on the Zager 80 series that you mention- which I have NOT happened to try in my hands- is the one of those three that makes me WANT to try one out; especially if it's got a Cedar top- I love Cedar topped flat-top steel-string and classical guitars! (And I also play fingerstyle, 100% of the time, never using a pick.)