Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

semi-OT: how to record and process these vocals

RudyS

I'm trying to record some songs with female vocals in my home studio, just for fun. I'm really new to recording en producing myself.

I'm trying to get the sound in the clip below. I like how the vocals sound airy with a lot of reverb and delay, but it's still in the front. Any tips on steering me into the right direction, although I realize I probably won't get the exact results. I tried some reverb settings with a quite some of pre-delay, but it's still either not big enough, or it gets pushed to much to the back. Are there any other effects going on

I'm using a Røde NT1a directly into my focus rite Scarlett. Don't have any other effects plugins besides the stock Logic ones. I'm trying to learn this first before download a million plugins.

[video:youtube]

Rudy

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

EQ and compression on the inserts, apply tastefully, don't overdo it.

Reverb and delay on aux sends. Maybe even a chorus to make it wider.

local: Korg Nautilus 61 AT | Yamaha MODX8

away: GigPerformer | 16" MBP M1 Max

home: Kawai RX-2 | Korg D1 | Roland Fantom X7

1 - you will need a really good vocalist. All the processing in the world will not help if your singer sounds like Gilbert Gottfried.

2 - One of my favorite tricks is to clone the vocal track, put 100% wet 'verb on the cloned track, and then run the dry and the 'verb vocals side-by-side - think of it as parallel reverb processing. If you shift the 'verb track forward a little bit (10-40 ms) you also get a sort of doubling effect. Shift it forward a lot and you get your reverb pre-delay going.

J.S. Bach Well Tempered Klavier

The collected works of Scott Joplin

Ray Charles Genius plus Soul

Charlie Parker Omnibook

Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life

Weather Report Mr. Gone