Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Dazzjazz's Jimmy Smith Transcriptions in Downbeat

LX88

Kudos go to forum member Darren Heinrich for his recently published article in Downbeat Magazine -"Examining Jimmy Smith Licks in '56".

Great Work Darren.

I just saw this article yesterday so I haven't had time to study it, but I will be doing so in the near future.

I know that Darren has been doing A LOT of research and study over the past few years on the topic of jazz organ. This is the sort of thing I would like to see more of on this forum.

It's all well and good to discuss the latest gear ( or in my case, sometimes later gear revisited) but I kind of miss seeing more topics that would relate to practice materials.

I am at a bit of a handicap myself being that I am primarily self taught, and started late. It all happened when I was given a Hammond B-3 and Leslie 122 completely unexpectedly about 15 years ago. So I have been trying to figure out how to play the damn thing ever since.

Also of note from the latest issue of Downbeat....Joey De Francesco is offering an online study course. I haven't looked at that yet but it can be found at www.joeyd101.com.

The price seems good - $19.99 per month.

I have not seen the material yet but I will say that I have seen far too many online teaching attempts that in my opinion are virtually impossible to follow! The Truefire Pat Martino course was on Youtube awhile back and I could not make heads or tails of it.

So we shall see how Joey fares as a teacher.

Anyway I am hoping that some other forum members will be offering educational info into the world in the not too distant future.

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply