Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New Piano Purchase - Boston 178 PE II or Kawai RX-6?

Josh C

Hello!

This is my first post about my first piano. I'm a lifetime musician who plays blues, jazz, pop and rock with a studio full of digital pianos, synths, a Rhodes, and plenty of other gear. I finally have the space and money for a grand piano in my home. I pulled the trigger too quickly (I know I know) without doing proper due diligence and research and purchased a Boston GP156 PE II at a piano sale at UNC. The piano was delivered and I was immediately disappointed by the sound of the bass register, realizing I need a bigger piano. I am returning the piano for either an upgrade to a Boston GP178 (or possibly a 193 PE depending on price) , or I have also found a Kawai RX-6 for about the same price as the Boston at another location. They are all brand new pianos around $23,000 to $25,000, although the RX-6 has been sitting on the showroom floor for a few years (which is why the owner was willing to give me a good deal). I have read a lot on other threads about different views of the Boston and the Kawai. I am very familiar with the fact that Boston pianos are designed by Steinway and Sons and built by Kawai at their factory, and the upgraded features of the Boston. Most people that have purchased one seem to be happy with the piano (with the exception of a few), but a lot a technicians have said to stay away from it due to various reasons. I have been playing the Boston GP178 at the dealer and I do like the piano as far as the tone and the action, but I feel the bass is still a little lacking especially when I compare it to the RX-6. I don't like the action of the RX-6 as much, but it is a really nice piano for the price and I get the impression that the action can be/or will change over time, where as the sizing difference (it's more then a foot bigger at 7 feet) for the bass response obviously can not be changed. I feel like it's