Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What's the cheapest way to get the Baba O'Riley sound?

p19978

Newbie here: and in the interest of full disclosure, I'm a lowlife cover band guitarist who happens to play some keys on my Hammond SK1.

Anyway, band wants to cover some Who, what's the best and cheapest (and easiest) way to cover that arpeggiated sound?

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The cheapest and simplest way to do this is just to sample the sound itself and play it as a backing track. In fact, I think The Who does this themselves during their shows.

Outside of that, I'd look for a cheap/free VST synth with a built-in arpeggiator, pick out or sculpt the closest sound to what you want, and create the arpeggio within the software.

From what I know about this, The Who actually used a Lowrey organ with some kind of "repeat" function that created the rhythmic pattern, while certain notes were held down. Sort of like a primitive arpeggiator.

Kurzweil PC3, Yamaha MOX8, Alesis Ion, Kawai K3M

Get a free vst polysynth of your choice as long as it has a LFO and multiple oscillators.

1.Set 2 oscillators to pulse waves.

2.Spread the oscillators an octave apart.

3.Detune them by VERY slightly.

4.Set the oscillators volumes the same.

5.Set the filter for a midrangey punchy tone then add a little resonance. It needs to be heard over the big guitar chords.

6. Add some drive if you have it. You could try a bit crusher if you have it. Dirty it up a hair. How you do it depends on which free synth you get.

7. Set the volume envelope as follows: attack at 10ms, decay at zero, sustain at full, and release at 12ms.