Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Martha Argerich

Dave Bryce

I do my best to stay away from superlatives...but I'm not sure I've ever seen or heard a pianist who consistently knocks me out as much as Martha does.

[video:youtube]

The Allegro section at ~6:15 is particularly fun. :)

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Professional Affiliations: Royer LabsMusic Player Network

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
She is truly one of the greats, but she's not one of those pianists whose version of everything she performs is definitive. When I was at school I studied Chopin's 3rd Scherzo and I remember hearing Marta Argerich's recording and being shocked - she really spoiled it by playing too fast. I know these things are subjective but have a listen and you'd know what I mean.

Man, she just owns that thing. The Prokofiev Concerto No. 3 is such a staple of the repertoire that there are dozens of examples on YT by everybody from Van Cliburn to Lang Lang, as well as a number of others by herself. Evgeny Kissin's rendering is a nice contrast to Argerich, I think.

I have a recording of her doing the Prokofiev no.3 along with Ravel's piano concerto in G major with the Berlin Phil and Claudio Abbado. The Ravel performance is even better than the Prokofiev, IMO.

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Professional Affiliations: Royer LabsMusic Player Network

Thanks for sharing. I "played" this movement for a performance final my junior year in college. Needless to say, it sucked by comparison. Her technique is amazing; so effortless and smooth. I used to feel like my fingers were going to fall off by the time I finished.

That's great. Haven't heard that before. I would say her performance of the Precipitato from the Prokofiev's Seventh sonata is as exciting or more so than anyone.