Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What does a record producer actually DO?

Eric Iverson

Right now I'm translating a recording contract at work, and it speaks of the "producer" of the recording.

I remember once reading something to the effect that a producers job really consisted of "making sure that the artists don't get too stoned to perform, and don't drive the sound engineer up the walls all the time," the point being that we shouldn't glorify them too much.

But I've never been involved in a recording project (just a couple studio dates over the years) that had a real, bona fide PRODUCER.

If any of you have been, or acted in that role yourself, please tell me what it entails, in your experience.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Simple Definition of producer

Someone who is in charge of making and usually providing the money for a play, movie, record, etc.

I am a producer because I own a studio set up (A simple computer with recording hardware and software). I sit down and start a recording project, I record and assemble the tracks, I mix and master the project and play on it. From nothing I produced a recording....... Producer! And the producer owns all or a big part of the profits of the recorded project.

It also means something like "coach" in the studio helping the musicians and arrangers bring their talents to a recorded product.

Thanks, guys.

I have also read that sometimes bands hire a producer to give them another opinion on the overall project, since sometimes we musicians don't see the big picture, and "can't see the forest for the trees."

Hear the forest for the birds?? LOL