Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Craig Anderton's "Audio Mastering: Quick Start"

Craig,

Disclaimer: I think Craig Anderton is a very cool guy who is extremely knowledgeable about music technology, and I respect him greatly.

Sorry to do this, but someone had to. I purchased this book for 14.95 off Amazon.com in an attempt to learn a bit more about mastering. As an experienced engineer and musician, I already know the basics of what mastering is, I just want to be able to do it myself a little bit better. Pro mastering costs a fortune and a fortune I do not make off my cd sales. Although, I have gone the pro route in the past so I know what a pro job can add to a quality mix.

Granted, this book IS subtitled "The absolute beginners guide to optimizing your CD's sound through creative mastering". What was highlighted in my mind was the "optimize your sound" bit, not the "absolute beginner" bit. My mistake there.

However, this begs the question:

Point #1: (yes, there are points)

If you don't even know what mastering is (absolute beginner), should you even attempt to master something yourself?

Hand holding or not, (and trust me, this leaflet offers no hand holding), if you're so clueless that you don't know what the process entials, is it really a good idea to try and learn that process from a 48 page leaflet?

Beyond the problem with the premise of the "book" (if you could call it that):

"So you're an idiot! Here's How To Master",

Point #2:

the content is fluffier than EQ Mag (at best). Take the 5 pages (of 48 total book pages) dedicated to "mastering tools".

Page 1 tells you that you need, monitors, a DAW, a hard drive, DSP plug ins and a cd burner.

Pages 2&3 list popular plug in formats and their respective manufacturers. VST: Stienberg, MAS: MOTU, etc.

Pages 4&5 tell you how to insert a plug in.