Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Using roland jazz chorus as keyboard amp

chrismoog

Any reason why this wouldn't be a good idea? It's for a roland FA06. Friends selling this amp for a snip but I'm not experienced enough to know if playing a keyboard through it is a dumb idea. I had a go and sounded ok. Any advice on what amp settings to use (middle, treble etc)?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Years ago i used to play my Rhodes thru a JC120.. I thought it sounded great.. The stereo chorus effect complimented the rhodes nicely. With that said im guessing it would be a better amp to play a true electro/mech board thru like a rhodes/clav/wurly.. I think a digital keyboard might sound a little harsh thru one and there really is no need for effects built into the amp, but maybe not..

It's a guitar amp, not a keyboard amp.

It may sound OK with some sounds, but my advice is to save your money and buy a proper amp or powered speaker.

OTOH, it probably sounds better than this:

http://thumbnail.image.rakuten.co.jp/@0_mall/reckb/cabinet/brand_r/r9_kc150_3.jpg

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

Any recommendations of a powered speaker or amp for an FA06 within the £300 range? Needs some welly for gigs.

Electro-Voice ZLX-12P 12" 2-Way Powered Loudspeaker is in that range.

Many people here like them.

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

300 pounds you should have NO PROBLEM finding a good used powered speaker, maybe even new.

Stay away from guitar speakers for general purpose keyboard duty. They are voiced completely wrong, especially for stuff like acoustic pianos and deep synth patches.

Hammond: L111, M100, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, D152, C3, B3

Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 22H, 31H

Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85, DX9

Roland: VR-09, RD-800