Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

[how-to/wich]integrate keyboard jazz/improvisation

Dextroze

Hi !

My name is Dexter, i'm a french jazz pianist.

Recently, I decided I wanted to add in my play on stage a keyboard. I want to use different sounds, work on them etc. Theremore, I could use a good weighted keyboard since I don't always play on acoustic pianos !

I tried the roland rd-800, wich in my novice opinion in keyboards sounded great ! But is it good as a midi controller ? Does it have to be a midi controller since the sounds are great and that you can do things hardware-wise ?

What amp should I buy ?

My maximum budget is 3000$...So much money for me !!!

It's been 3 days i'm looking for good musicians advices, but it's hard to find this kind of thing in french:)

I hope somebody can help me here !

Thanks

Nord Electro 6D / Prophet Rev2/ Digitakt / Minilogue / Keyscape -

New video :

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Bonjour Dexter, et bienvenue.

Do you think the RD800 gives you all the sounds you need? If so, MIDI controller features don't matter. (I suspect the RD800 is a good MIDI controller, but I don't know the details).

Amps have been discussed on this forum many times. Lots of us like QSC, Yamaha, or EV.

(Let me know if you need anything translating)

Cheers, Mike.

Hello and thank you for your answer.

Do you think that for a first experience of keyboards the rd-800 is too much ?

Does someone knows about the midi controller ability of the rd-800 ?

New video :

There are good weighted keyboards from many brands, including Casio, Yamaha, Roland, Kurzweil, Nord, and maybe some others. They all have good piano sounds as well as possibly the other sounds you're looking for. You should try as many as you can and try them again until you can't tell which one you like anymore. Then, wait a while and try again. ;)