Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Thinking about a second board

Rockitman

I have been playing keys in this band now for 6 months. We are taking off like wildfire after winning a "battle of the bands" contest a couple of months ago, our first live performance to boot!

So we are slowly building up our repertoire, and we play mostly classic rock songs from 70's, 80's, and now moving into some 90's pieces.

I am now finding it very tough to pull out all the necessary sounds from my one board, a Roland RD700sx, with the Ultimate Keys SRX add on module.

We really like The Cars, and am having fits trying to recreate all of the sounds Hawkes produced. Now adding other bands' songs from 80's and there's just so much unique synth sounds, I am thinking I need a second board. Can anyone recommend the ideal board for me that would have alot of synth samples? I am not versed in knob tweaking, would rather just deal with some presets if I can get away with it.

Let's just say money is no object right now, but I am a bargain shopper!

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Since you mention The Cars, an early stop would be the Novation UltraNova at about $600. Its all about being a synth and *not* a replacement piano. Its well-packed with presets. The Yamaha MX61 is also mentioned favorably and runs about $700. The new Roland FA-06 workstation is $1200 and seems well-regarded so far. If you're brave, "rich" and really serious, look at the Prophet-08 ($2k) and the Jupiter-50 ($2k.) If your synth needs are really basic, the Roland VR-09 Combo ($899) might do the job. It sports a nice 3-part synth like the GAIA's on top of the piano, organ, drum and oddball sections. Great live effects section on it, too.