Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Good compromise key action

MarKeys

Hi all, in the never ending quest for a compromise action for organ and piano, I tried the m-audio keystation 88 and thought it was in-between enough to possibly be OK for both types of playing (knowing that means not great for either, but passably at least). Krome was sort of OK too. So I wonder, is the Nord hp action similar? Or, is there an action like that (sort of a light piano action, I'd say) in a board that does B-3, APs and EPs (especially Wurly) out there? Or is the Electro 3 and 4 like that at all? My background is piano, but for my band I do organ at least half the time. But as we add songs with piano parts, my electro 2 seems feeble both in sound and satisfying action feel. Thanks for any insight out there.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Since you were considering a Keystation it seems like you don't necessarily need sounds in the board, right?

Two boards will always be better than one if you want actions to play piano and organ from. The Keystation is $200, the Krome is $1600, and the Nord HP is $2800, so it sounds like budget isn't your overriding concern. At $2800, or even at $1000, you can get a pair of boards that will do better than any one board.

But if for some reason, it simply must be a single board with a weighted action, if I had to play organ from a weighted board, I'd probably go with the Kurzweil PC3LE8 (or for more MIDI functionality, PC3K8). If the 54 lbs is too much to carry around, then a 76 key Nord Stage 2 at 36 lbs (I actually liked the earlier Stage EX a little better for this than the Stage 2, but Stage 2 is still better than most). Alternatively, if I had to play piano from an organ-action board, I would look at the Roland VR-700 or the Numa Compact, which at 14 lbs is the best lightweight solution IMO. (I haven't tried the Hammond SK1-88 which could be another possibility.)