Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Very broad, "thought process" question

SHaka40

Hey guys,

Need some advice from some of you experienced cats on the forum. I've been playing keys for years, but haven't been able to break through the ice when it comes to serious classical or jazz playing. In part, this is because (besides the fact that I don't practice nearly enough and I can't afford a good teacher :rolleyes:...) I have trouble with some basic, philosophical aspects of learning music theory. For example, let's take modes: do you guys think in terms of the scale that a mode comes from, or in relationship to the key that the mode is in? To make this clearer, consider D-Dorian. If I'm just learning to play this mode, should my thought process be 1)D-Dorian is a C-major scale that starts on D, or 2)the Dorian mode is like a major scale (D major in this case) with a flatted 3 and 7. Obviously, both ways of thinking would leave me in the same place: playing D-to-D with all white notes. But which is the "right" way to learn/think?

Similarly, let's say I'm learning to play a bassline or a melody. Should I be thinking step-wise/linearly from one note to the next: i.e. up a half step, up a 3rd, down a 5th... Or should I always be thinking of each note in relationship to a key-signature/tonic (IV, VII, ii).

Thanks!

--Sean H.

Yamaha MOXF8, Korg TR76, Novation X-Station 61, Casio PX-320

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A far as the modes, I'd say that 1) and 2) are just routes to get you to remember and/or understand where you're going. Much like the letter names for notes. You don't always think "G, B, D, C, E G" while you're playing, do you? Heck, if you've developed your sight reading at all, you may not even think of the letters as you look at the black dots and touch the corresponding keys.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck