Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Jazz piano teacher, what to expect?

Allister

as the title says, I have finally bitten the bullet and decided to get some help with my playing. I have been self taught for around two years now after stopping classical piano lessons and I have taken it as far as I can on my own.

so my question is this: what can I expect from a good jazz piano teacher in terms of time during lessons and things I will be set to do in my own time?

Thanks, Al.

Yamaha MOX8, Roland VK8, LESLIE HL822 Woop woop!!!! and a MBP running PT10 and Omnisphere. My Blog.

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Jazz piano teacher here. I'd say, try to find a teacher who has a long experience in teaching, and knows how to shape the lessons to follow your needs.

Note: Let the *teacher* decide what your needs are! :) (After having spoken with him about your tastes and goals).

For example, if you're eager to work on Chick Corea's style, but your teacher says that you need to work a bit on bebop harmony and phrasing beforehand, listen to him/her. In certain things there are no shortcuts.

In the same way, if you want to learn stride, but your left-hand tecnique is not up to it, you'll need to work on that.

Expect to have to work at home quite a bit, both alone and with some kind of recorded aid. Don't forget to record your home performances sometimes, and listen to them critically.

Follow your teacher's advice about when it's the right time to find a couple of mates to start playing in group.

Set aside some time every day to just play what you feel, developing your instincts. Also, listening to a *lot* af jazz in different styles is paramount.

If your teacher wants to include permanent doses of blues *and* classical music in your lessons, I'd say stick with that teacher. :D

Thanks for the reply! if this teacher is anything like you have just outlined, ill be in heaven!