Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recording question

stixcom92

I'm a college student and I run a small studio out of my house for local/college bands in the area. I just got asked to record a band with keys, and we were originally planning to use the steinway at the college, but turns out we can't for various reasons. Thus, we're trying the recording with a keyboard. I've got an old PC88 as a controller that I really like the sound of live but not that much on record, and the band's keyboard is a korg sp170, which I don't really dig that much. What's a good software piano that is convincing enough for a record and doesn't sound obviously artificial? I've tried the stock pro tools/logic/reason ones, and they sound too thin to me.

Thanks,

-J

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Although it's discontinued, I'm a fan of NI Akoustik Piano. Also, have you checked out the Reason Pianos refill?

Hardware

Yamaha MODX7, DX7, PSR-530, MX61/Korg TR-Rack, 01/W Pro X, Trinity Pro X, Karma/Ensoniq ESQ-1

Behringer DeepMind12, Model D, Odyssey, 2600/Arturia Keylab MKII 61

Software

Studio One/V Collection 9/Korg Collection 4/Cherry Audio/UVI SonicPass/EW Composer Cloud/Omnisphere, Stylus RMX, Trilian/IK Total Studio 3.5 MAX/Roland Cloud

I'm a college student and I run a small studio out of my house for local/college bands in the area. I just got asked to record a band with keys, and we were originally planning to use the steinway at the college, but turns out we can't for various reasons. Thus, we're trying the recording with a keyboard. I've got an old PC88 as a controller that I really like the sound of live but not that much on record, and the band's keyboard is a korg sp170, which I don't really dig that much. What's a good software piano that is convincing enough for a record and doesn't sound obviously artificial? I've tried the stock pro tools/logic/reason ones, and they sound too thin to me.

Thanks,

-J