Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fully weighted vs. semi-weighted keys

soupcat

I'm an absolute beginner, maybe playing a month and currently learning from an Alfred lesson book. Ultimately I would like to join a group, do covers, rock, pop, you get the idea.

I'm learning/playing on a Yamaha YPG-235, it has semi-weighted action. I actually like its action, although at this point I really don't know any other.

At this early stage, would it be more beneficial to be learning on fully weighted keys? Down the road, I'll be wanting to play organ, piano, ep's, the works. My concern is to build the best foundation possible. When I briefly try fully weighted keys a GC or SA, I find that they feel heavy/slow, and think I actually prefer semi-weighted. But at this point I suspect it is just a matter of what I am accustomed to. I want to develop into a well rounded, decent, keys player. Should I be on fully weighted keys? Where did you start?

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you seriously want to be able to play a real piano, you need at least fully weighted keys, if not time on an actual acoustic piano.

I once thought fully weighted was enough, but once I got a real piano, there was no going back. Fully weighted has come a long way though, and are often a great substitute for gigs or other situations where real piano cannot be used.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI