Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New to Keyboards; Could you help me pick one for Studio use?

Deverica Wolf

Hi. I am an aspiring singer-songwriter in nowheresville. I am interested in starting a career and recording some music in a studio...someday. :blush:

I am currently using a cheap $30 toy keyboard that I picked up years ago for writing music. I bought it as a little hobby thing. Shocking as it may be, I have written most of what could be an album on there. The problem is that...besides sucking, it only has 49 keys and is limited. It's just a joke.

So I am looking to buy a real Keyboard/Digital Piano for my future career. But I don't really know anything about this: What to buy, what I'll need in the studio, etc... I am planning on playing the keyboard and synthesizer violin/organ-style sounds. I am still learning both.

I am trying to go for a digital sound. I want the piano keys to sort of sound magical; the lyrics I am writing are based in fantasy and are somewhat whimsical. So more of a keyboard sound and less a real grand piano. I want it to be high quality. Also, I havo no plans on playing this live: This is studio only. I want to use a Mic. on stage. :)

I have spotted some on sale plus 15% off the order and free shipping and gifts...

Kawai MP6 Professional Stage Piano

Yamaha CP50 88 Key STAGE PIANO

Nord Electro 3 Seventythree Stage Piano/Organ

Then I found some Workstations but I am unsure if they are too much for what I need...

Yamaha MOX8 88-Key Graded Hammer Action Music Production Synthesizer Workstation

Yamaha MOTIF XS7 Music Production Synthesizer Workstation Keyboard

Roland Fantom-G6 Workstation Keyboard

Some of the models have versions with different amounts of keys. I want a lot of keys but am unsure how many. Most of these come with a free Oxygen 25 - USB MIDI Controller, which I don't what is used for. Also, I know nothing about amps or cables. I am clueless on all this. :(