Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

15" Peavey Black Widow Speakers - Of Any Use to a KB-er?

Joe P

I have two of these speakers that I swapped out of a Peavey bass cabinet for a bass player friend. There's nothing wrong with them and I was kicking around the idea of making some cabinets for them for home practice use.

Right now I could power them with either a Peavey Classic guitar amp, a Peavey bass amp head, or a Peavey powered mixer PA head (I think - I'm not too good with electrics).

My keyboards sound pretty good through the bass head and the original cabinet using the EQ on the bass head.

So I'm wondering if it's possible to build two cabinets, one for each speaker and what geometry I should shoot for to get the best sound.

I'm not looking for stellar audio, just something permamently set up that I can use instead of bringing my keyboard amp in and out.

Regards,

Joe

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Yeah, there's a hell of a lot more that goes into building a cabinet than you want to know about. Trust me. Making a square and cutting a hole in it isn't the end all, and will likely leave you with something that sounds like ASS.

Agreed.

"Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent." - Victor Hugo

You can buy empty cabinets cheap. I bought a pair of empty 12 cabs closed back of craiglist last year for $70. I had a couple of Carvin neodymium speakers I wasn't using. The cabs were seismic audio and the results were pretty good. I made them for friends teenage son to use with his bass.

Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12

Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell