Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

To Learn or Not To Learn: That is the question

The Gizmologist

As a mostly self-taught bassist of 8+ years, I have had a moderate but surprising amount of success locally. I've been in bands almost every day since picking up the bass, I've had no shortage of gigs or venues to play, and with little training or actual skill. Maybe I'm just lucky or in a zip code that is mostly bass-less.

That being said, I have a question. Despite my local successes, my music theory knowledge is lacking. My skill set is less than adequate in my opinion. Sure I can play AC/DC and ZZ Top till the cows come home. But should I go back and start taking lessons and classes? I've had success without them but sometimes feel like a fraud who is getting by solely on luck and personality (and dashing good looks). I've asked several educated musicians and to my surprise they all advised me NOT to take lassons and classes for the most part. I know most responses will probably say "education can't hurt, only help" but as a bassist on a budget is my playing going to improve proportionately to the effort, time, and money I spend?

Any opinions/advice would be helpful.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Can't really make a judgement unless you provide pics of your "dashing good looks". Everyone knows good looking people shouldn't work as hard as "uglies". It's why I've never practiced a day in my life.

You can stop now -jeremyc

STOP QUOTING EVERY THING I SAY!!! -Bass_god_offspring

lug, you should add that statement to you signature.-Tenstrum

I'm not sure any argument can top lug's. - Sweet Willie

Yes.

Why on earth would they advise you not to?

Given that you already play well (assuming that is why you get gigs - either that or you're insanely attractive - or both) you'll probably find the theory reinforced what you already might have picked up based on what makes the lines you've played sound good.