Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Is $700 a fair price for a Nord Electro 2?

Bobadohshe

I'm not an expert on Nord gear, which is why I ask.

I have a friend looking to get a board for singer songwriter applications (piano, rhodes, wurly) and a friend of hers is offering to sell his Electro 2 for $700. I don't know whether it's 61 key or 73 key, I told her to find out and report back. My cursory investigation leads me to think that it's a decent price, but what do you all think? Do any other options seem more logical? I'd suggest a used CP33 if she didn't need the damn wurly sounds.

Kawai C-60 Grand Piano : Hammond A-100 : Hammond SK2 : Yamaha CP4 : Yamaha Montage 7 : Moog Sub 37

My latest album: Funky organ, huge horn section

https://bobbycressey.bandcamp.com/album/cali-native

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yeah, $700 is a very good price for a NE2 61.

I don't necessarily think it's the best board for that particular application (sound set) aside, as Skinny's right, it does suck playing piano on an NE2.

OTOH, if you friend isn't a dyed in the wool piano player, then the action might not make much of a difference to them, in which case . . . it's just fine.

Yamaha C7 Grand, My Hammonds: '57 B3, '54 C2, '42 BC, '40 D, '05 XK3 Pro System, Kawai MP9000, Fender Rhodes Mk I 73, Yamaha CP33, Motif ES6, Nord Electro 2, Minimoog Voyager & Model D, Korg MS10

I think the price is good, but if she is interested only in piano/EP sounds and not organ, it seems a shame to be stuck with a nonweighted keyboard.

As for your CP33 alternative, I think that's sensible, not just for the weighted action, but because a good piano sound and no wurly is probably better than a not so good piano sound with a wurly.