Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

"Die Funky Machine"No love for GSI zD6?

psr220

I thought there would be more hype. Not as much as VB3,but more than I found with google. Guido nailed certain nuances that the NORD samples seem to be missing(and vice versa)IMHO. I own two D6's,one with the Stevie preamp,and a Clavinet ii.

zD6 pro's

-Damper...I use this a lot when I play the real deal. zD6 goes flat but my D6 goes sharp when dampened

-Low notes have more growl

-Pitch envelope seems more accurate

-Wah is voiced better

-Price

NORD pro's

-High notes sound sweeter

-Sustains longer

-Pickup and filter settings are more accurate

-Stability of hardware

-Red

If I could successfully combine these positive attributes it would be a mean machine. I have no experience with Scarbee or EVD6 and would like to hear opinions on how they stack up. Thanx

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Nice review! I'm no clav expert, never owned one but i kind of get more inspired playing the Nord's. There's something about the ZD6 that don't sit right with me, it's like the sound is right there in my face (i haven't checked the velocity or anything like that), once again i'm no Clav expert. And since I haven't messed with it a lot my opinion is not final.

On the other hand, i spent hours and hours tweaking the Nord's Clav and found some lovely sounds. I too would like to hear more opinions about the ZD6!

"The purple piper plays his tune, The choir softly sing; Three lullabies in an ancient tongue, For the court of the crimson king"

The Nord captures the vibe of my old Clavinet 2's better than zD6. I can't really describe it. I think it is the accuracy of the pickup tones - all 4 pickup combos are right on.

I agree that the nord wah is kind of weak..

Out of curiosity, have you ever try an external Wah?

"The purple piper plays his tune, The choir softly sing; Three lullabies in an ancient tongue, For the court of the crimson king"