Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Book + CD - "Tricia Woods - Beginning Blues Keryboard"

stillplaying

Book + CD - "Tricia Woods - Beginning Blues Keyboard"

I'm a music teacher. I have blues stuff that I've used but it's all at a high-ish level.

Looking for a method book to work through with a student who's showing an interest. He's 11, been with me about half a year, hands just not quite at the octave stage.

Read the reviews on Amazon - and had a look at the "look inside" function on the US Amazon site. Can't tell much about it. Just contents.

Thanks in advance.

I'm the piano player "off of" Borrowed Books.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I liked the Mark Harrison Blues Piano book. It might be digestible for someone that age as well, but you'd know better than I.

I also liked the Tim Richards book, but it's probably a bit much for an 11 year old. Still, check for yourself and see.

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

I liked the Mark Harrison Blues Piano book. It might be digestible for someone that age as well, but you'd know better than I.

Big fat +1 from me on this book. Get it, digest it, use the concepts with your student, and you'll be amazed at home much you learn yourself.

Kawai C-60 Grand Piano : Hammond A-100 : Hammond SK2 : Yamaha CP4 : Yamaha Montage 7 : Moog Sub 37

My latest album: Funky organ, huge horn section

https://bobbycressey.bandcamp.com/album/cali-native

Yes Mark Harrison - I bought and worked through the Pop Piano Book about fifteen or twenty years ago. I could already play/improvise to a reasonable standard - it'd be a struggle IMO for an inexperienced player.

Are the Blues and Gospel ones like chapters from the Pop Piano Book?

I'm the piano player "off of" Borrowed Books.