Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice needed on career choice.....

PaulKey

I have just recently been made redundant from my current job (boring admin stuff). I've been playing keyboards for about 25 years now. I get by. Now I'm seriously looking at teaching keyboards/piano. The problem is I haven't looked at Grades etc. for almost 20 years and that was when I took my Grade 4.

I know this is a very vague question to ask but I'm looking at trying to pass my Grade 8 (I've looked at what's required and it seems a long way from what I know.. But I will have a lot of time on my hands over the next 2 months to push myself)

Do you guys think this is achievable?

Any advice would be greatly apreciated. :)

Korg Triton Classic(Moss,64ram,Scsi), Korg 01/Wfd, Roland D50

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If I were considering teaching piano (or any new self-employment opportunity), I'd focus as much or more on the financial viability of the venture as on skills/qualifications. Can you support yourself and any dependents? Will you enjoy it and the kb playing when it becomes "work"? You may want to start teaching part-time, to pick up some income, get introduced to the market, etc.

I'm not familiar with the Grades you refer to, so can't/won't speak to that.

"I never knew that music like that was possible." - Mozart ( Amadeus movie)

I have just recently been made redundant from my current job (boring admin stuff). I've been playing keyboards for about 25 years now. I get by. Now I'm seriously looking at teaching keyboards/piano. The problem is I haven't looked at Grades etc. for almost 20 years and that was when I took my Grade 4.

I know this is a very vague question to ask but I'm looking at trying to pass my Grade 8 (I've looked at what's required and it seems a long way from what I know.. But I will have a lot of time on my hands over the next 2 months to push myself)