Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Weighted Keys vs. Non-Weighted Keys...?

MuzikTeechur

I've been using a Kurzweil SP-88x for a few years now as my main Stage Piano. I enjoy the action, it's easy to use, and plays very well. I use it for its own sounds as well as a controller for a second effects board and another module.

When it comes down to it, the only sounds I'm really using on the Kurz are the pianos (three of them, ranging from a dark grand, medium "jazz" piano, and a brighter rock piano). Strings, brass, clavs, reeds, I'm getting from the other boards.

The BIG drawback to the Kurz is that it weighs over 55 lbs, and with its case is probably closer to 65#. It's LOOOOONG and heavy. My case is wheeled, so time spent actually lifting the piano is minimized.

I just bought an Electro 2 module, and with the great pianos in that, I'm beginning to think I could possibly do away with the heavy weighted Kurz in favor of a lighter, semi-weighted controller board; either 73/76 or 88-key.

I've been playing piano since a toddler, and have studied formally since the age of 6. Like many pianists, I love the way a full piano-action feels, and is probably the most important aspect of a keyboard. I'm wondering if any others have been faced with this decision, and is it possible that any of you who prefer hammer-action have been happy with any of today's semi-weighted controllers? I could keep the Kurz and be happy, but I'm getting a bit older and one of these days I'm going to damage myself slinging the big Kurz around! Other advantage is that with a shorter main board I could bring my car to more gigs, rather than my (gas guzzling) Tahoe.

Opinions?

Muzikteechur is Lonnie, in Kittery, Maine.

HS music teacher: Concert Band, Marching Band, Jazz Band, Chorus, Music Theory, AP Music Theory, History of Rock, Musical Theatre, Piano, Guitar, Drama.

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply