Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Teaching Jazz / Jazz Improv

grego

I am a classicaly trained pianist who has been playing quite a few different genres most (rock/pop/country and more)of which I just learned by doing. Recently I started playing salsa and delving into Latin jazz. I also teach piano privately to students ranging from 4 years old to 70 years old and I have a few middle/high school boys wanting to learn jazz and jazz improv. How does one teach jazz improv? I have started with the blues and have tried a few Aebersold books, but I feel like my students are getting as frustrated as I am. I would like some easy tunes for them to learn by ear and transcribe a few solos. Any ideas? Thanks for your input.

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Here's some possibilities:

Get a good jazz theory book. Several members here can suggest good ones. I can recommend this excellent book by a former band member/friend: http://www.creativejazz.com/cji.htm

Learn basic improvisational skills, chords and how to reharmonize songs.

Listen to jazz recordings. Ask your students who they like, and have them bring examples of their favorite recordings and music to the lesson.

Get a Real Book for access to charts for most standards.

Check out Lot2Learn on YouTube for instructional videos.

If you ever decide you don't know more about jazz than some of your students, recommend they seek a jazz instructor. Jazz instruction exists for all levels of students. Good luck.

dbl post

Find 675 of my jazz piano arrangements of standards for educational purposes and tutorials at www.Patreon.com/HarryLikas Harry was the Technical Editor of Mark Levine's "The Jazz Theory Book" and helped develop "The Jazz Piano Book."

My jazz piano teacher had me working out the book "Jazz Bits & Pieces" by Bill Boyd, in addition to the book he had me use for my piano basics.