Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Audio Technica AT4033 vs. Oktava MC012

Hey all, I'm a mic novice, but I would like to buy a unit that will cover the most ground. Specifically, I need something for: 1) Vocals / Synth vocoding 2) Acoustic guitar 3) Bass guitar (the strings - not the amp cabinet) 4) Crazy sounds around the house (sound effects / sampling) I know the Oktava and AT differ in that one is a large diaphragm condenser and the other is a small diaphragm, but I don't know where to go from there. I can't touch an AT for less than $300, then there is the cost of a stand & boom, a pop filter, and a high quality cable. I could probably get an Oktava with multiple capsules for $200. So what do you think best fits my needs? On a related note, how about the Oktava MK319 large dia condenser? I don't hear much about this mic. The Rode NTK is more than I want to spend. [b]And BTW, which AT is the right mic?[/b] They offer the SE and the SM. I can't seem to tell the difference. Wiggum

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Well...if you want to keep it at $200...then look at the AT3035. It's available for $200 and though I haven't tried it myself...all the reviews are extreamly favorable,...a nice do-it-all, large diaphragm condenser. http://www.audiotechnica.com/prodpro/profiles/AT3035.html

miroslav - miroslavmusic.com

"Just because it happened to you, it doesn't mean it's important."