Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Nord Stage 3 compact

Looking for some opinions on the 73 semi-weighted keybed of the Nord Stage 3 compact. I realize it's not the same as piano action, but how does it feel when playing piano parts? I am by no means a professional piano player, so it's not critical to me but want to get your feedback.

Also, are there any other major differences between the 73 compact and the 76HP version of Stage 3?

_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/_/

Kronos 88, Korg CX-3, Motion Sound KBR-3D

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I have had both the 73-key NS3C semi-weighted and the NS2 76 weighted.

I abandoned the idea of playing decent piano parts on non-weighted keys a long time ago. I have learned how to do it in the past out of necessity, but it messes up my real piano playing. Others don't have this problem.

The NS2 76 hung in there longer with piano parts, but I ultimately grew dissatisfied with the spongey aftertouch strip, which affected key bounce, which made certain rock and roll styles more difficult. I read somewhere that they have since substituted a firmer foam, but once bitten, ....

For me, any decent amount of piano work requires something that's trying to be a piano and little else. My current fave is a NP4 which drives the NS3C, which has turned out to be the perfect rig for what I do, e.g. a few different local band, jam sessions, fill ins, etc. Of course, any weighted controller whose feel you like could work. They also fixed a velocity curve issue recently that was annoying a lot of people (not me).

EDIT: the only significant difference between the two (other than size, keybed, weight, etc.) is that the NS3C has drawbar sliders, the NS3 HP76 uses button controls. If you play the drawbars (I do) this matters.

Want to make your band better?  Check out "A Guide To Starting (Or Improving!) Your Own Local Band"