Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Zildjian Cymbals -- A little history...

What keyboard played doesn't know about Zildjian?

Every drummer I ever jammed or gigged with had at least one Zildjian cymbal, with the more fortunate of them having "all Zildjian".

I'm not an expert, and maybe some other brands are just as good, but I was intrigued by this "brief history of Zildjian" from the latest Guitar Center catalog (note: NOT a lot of keyboards in there....) that hit my mailbox. Yeah, I could go to Wikipedia for more detailed info, but I do try to avoid that site. Here's what they noted about Zildjian...

"So the story goes, a Turkish alchemist named Avedis was employed by the sultan to make gold. In 1623, he accidentally stumbled upon an alloy that made a beautiful, dark, shimmering sound when struck. The sultan was so impressed that he gave Avedis a new family name: Zildjian, meaning "cymbal smith". The recipe for their bronze alloy has been closely guarded ever since, but the magic is no mystery at all. It's right there in Zildjian cymbals, player every day, all over the world."

There may be some clever marketing embedded in that "story", but I'd never heard it before from any drummers.

Old No7

Yamaha MODX6 * Hammond SK Pro 73 * Roland Fantom-08 * Crumar Mojo Pedals * Mackie Thump 12As * Tascam DP-24SD * JBL 305 MkIIs

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Yes, the company dates way back. Fascinating Story, even if the details may have been lost / changed over time, a company that's been around this long is remarkable.

Sabian is a spin off from Zindjian, from what I remember. At one point there was a disagreement between two brothers, and one set off to create Sabian.

Korg Kronos X73 / ARP Odyssey / Motif ES Rack / Roland D-05 / JP-08 / SE-05 / Jupiter Xm / Novation Mininova / NL2X / Waldorf Pulse II

MBP-LOGIC

American Deluxe P-Bass, Yamaha RBX760