Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How limited am I by my genes?

The Doctor

I play sort of a rhythm guitar, with a very few little accoustic licks. I can finger pick. I'm talking Paul Simon or Gordon Lightfoot stuff, no better.

Is it possible for me to eventually play like Herschel Yatovitz, David Hidalgo, or Albert Lee? Tony Rice? Vince Gill? Can "anyone" make it to a high level just with lessons and lots of practice? I ask because:

1. There seem to be alot of people who make it to that level. I amlistening to an old "Desert Rose Band" CD and John Jorgensen is making his axe ring like a bell. There are lots like him.

2. I have been playing for many years and from time to time try to play lead like these guys, an it seems hopeless.

If I can make it, how do I do it? Instructional videos? Personal instruction? I watched Herschel play on PBS and even the things that I can sort of mimic, he fingers completely differently.

Help?

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i think everyone has a certain level of dexterity that is either a help or hinderance.

we all have different levels of desire and commitment.

so to answer the question, partly genetics may come into play, and some of it is just our personalities and how we approach it.

some people want to be great but don't want the work involved.

some people are just not coordinated enough.

but i think that most of it is just plain hard work.

no easy answer.

How many fingers were you born with :D

If you have the traditional complement and they bare a resemblance to bread sticks rather than marshmallows you're likely set to go :thu:

The rest... as they say.. is your for the taking.

I still think guitars are like shoes, but louder.

I'm listening to some instruction videos by John Heussenstamm

(http://www.guitarschool.net/teacher_show.asp?teacher_id=3)