Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

inspired by the influences thread: the phases thread

i was gonna reply to the who are your influences thread, but i found it sorta difficult... i mean, except for flea (the original reason i started playing music outside the HS band), its hard for me to pinpoint stuff, and naming specific players i dont think really shows my influences

but i DO go thru alot of musical phases, and i thought maybe we could talk about that

for instance...

i started off (as i sorta said) being into like the chili peppers, faith no more, fishbone... ya know, funkpunkearly90s stuff, i liked it alot

then after that i inexplicably started getting into metal; my two big groups were metallica and dream theater... i was attracted to the complexity speed and heaviness of the songs... i was in fact one of those guys who was like, "all this punk sh*t sucks, these guys can barely play. now, time for a guitar solo!"

ugg... embarrassing :P

next i started getting into playing guitar alot, and became a devoted disciple of the great jimi hendrix

then for a while i was really into hip hop... still am actually; upon getting an outkast album from my at-the-time gf i stared to delve even deeper into the genre, and my freinds ride decked out with big 12" subs helped me along too :)

next: big beatles jag. HUGE. i had always been like, "oh, the beatles, boring, my dad likes this stuff", but i realized i had never really listened to the MUSIC before.... now they are unquestionably one of my favorite bands

then a big zeppelin jag... id always had the cds but until that time i had never really fully appreciated the soaring awesomeness of robert plant, the pounding proto-hip-hop groove of john bonham, the intricately groovy basslines of JPJ... and oh yea, that other guy :P