Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Which MIDI Controller Do You Recommend?

undo

Hi, this is my debut in Harmony Central User Forums :wave:

I'm about to buy a MIDI Controller for the first time, and I need some experts' orientation during the purchasing process, indeed. First, will I have to buy additional equipment, or is completing my MIDI controller just with some softwares enough? I've used digital pianos and synthesizers up till now, and I'm very new to the MIDI controller market. In short, I've listed these models after my search, and now I would appreciate if you make some recommendations among these ones:

*M-Audio Axiom 61

*M-Audio Oxygen 61

*M-Audio Radium 61

*Edirol PCR-M80

*E-Mu Xboard 61

*Novation ReMOTE 61 LE

*Korg Blem K-61

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

In order to get back to HC (Harmony Central), you will have to make a left, go 3 stop lights, pick up the highway.... ;)

I read the first line of your post and thought you were lost. :)

The controllers listed are USB-compatible so no additional equipment should be necessary. You should be able to plug and play.

Of those listed, the E-mu Xboard 61 comes with a 3 GB Proteus X sound library.

Welcome to the forum. Good luck. :cool:

PD

"The greatest thing you'll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return."--E. Ahbez "Nature Boy"

Oops! It was simply a poor start. Excuse me for the "wrong window" mistake.

ProfD, thanks for your feedback. I hear pretty good words about Xboard and Novation ReMOTE, and my observation is that most controller users are not ok with M-Audio models. Thank you very much, again.

What exactly are you controlling? I'm just saying this because my best controller is the Casio CDP-100 digital piano (weighted).

I own the Oxygen and the XBoard (semi weighted). These two have a lot of buttons and gadgets but for keyboard feel it doesn't compare to the Casio.

Hamburg Steinway O, Crumar Mojo, Nord Electro 4 HP 73, EV ZXA1