Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Pls help: Roland Juno-g vs XP-30

denistu

Hello,

I have Roland XP-30 with 60&70 and Vintage Synth expansion boards. I am thinking of an upgrade since Roland released so many models after XP-30. I know about the Fantom but since I am not a pro player, I can't justify paying high price for keys.

I heard many good things about the new Juno-G and would like to know if it would be a good replacement for my XP-30.

The only thing that I am afraid of is that I might not feel a big tonal difference between xp-30 and Juno-g in which case I would waste my money.

I was wondering if anybody compared the sound quality of Juno-g and xp-30 ? Is there a really big difference considering that my XP-30 come with two expansion boards.

Oh, ... I forgot to mention. I heard that Juno-g doesn't have after touch. That really sucks ...

But I would compromise if the sounds are much better then xp-30.

Thanks !

Dennis

Nord Electro 3, Motif ES-6

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I could tell the difference between the XP line and the Fantom line. I had an XP-50 and XP-80 stack with a few expansion cards. I went to an XP-5080 and Fantom 76. The main difference was in the bottom. Better, smoother bass. Depending on what you want, the SRX cards are a big improvement for piano, ep and strings. I get a lot of use out of the SRX studio card but one of the worst music purchases I ever made was the origional SRX piano card.

Are you using the on board sequencer? That may be an important factor.

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page